| 
  • This workspace has been inactive for over 11 months, and is scheduled to be reclaimed. Make an edit or click here to mark it as active.
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Get control of your email attachments. Connect all your Gmail accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize your file attachments. You can also connect Dokkio to Drive, Dropbox, and Slack. Sign up for free.

View
 

Arcanist

Page history last edited by PBworks 13 years, 1 month ago

Dispel Magic

There are no rules for dispelling magic in Iron Heroes. Click on the link above for a house rule that addresses this issue.


 

Magic

For questions relating to magic, click on the link above.


 

Number of Schools at 1st level

An arcanist gets access to two schools of magic at 1st level, as indicated in the class description, rather than the "three schools" mentioned at one point in the spellcasting section.


 

Aspects of Power

As long as you have 1 or more mana, you can use aspects of power all day, every round.


 

Eldritch Darts

Eldritch Darts are a force effect, and therefore not subject to DR and as such, they deal full damage to objects (hardness still applies).

 

Q: The text in the book says you create an amount of them equal to the number of attacks you have in one round. If you were to take feats in the Two Weapon Fighting feat tree, you would gain more attacks per round...and therefore more Darts?

 

Not with Two Weapon Fighting, but I'd allow a character to take the rapid shot tree and gain extra darts that way.

 

Q: Can an arcanist who has Weapon focus (eldritch dart) masteries apply the masteries' benefits freely to the greater aspect version of eldritch dart?

 

Yes.


 

Master of Heat and Flame

If you make a DC20 Spellcraft check, Master of Heat and Flame will work underwater, though it will appear as steam instead of fire.

 

In a grapple, you can only use Master of Heat and Flame to damage your opponent with the "attack your opponent" option. It does not cause any damage for any other action type within a grapple (just as a torch would not).

 

You don't get the damage from both spiked gauntlets and the Master of Heat and Flame ability at the same time, you have to choose one (you don't get to add unarmed strike damage either). So you could do 1d4+STR mod or 1d8+INT mod, but not both.

 

Q: Should the base damage of Greater Master of Heat and Flame be 2d6, or 2d8?

 

2d6, as per the rulebook. The fact that this is a touch attack counters the fact that Greater Eldritch Darts can be used at range, so both have the same damage.

 

Q: According to page 70, the flame created by Master of Heat and Flame is considered a melee touch attack, but I'm not quite sure what that means. Is it a weapon?

 

It's as much a weapon as a bite, a claw or a fist, so yes.

 

Q: Can it be used with the following?

  • As a Weapon Masters favored weapon
  • With combat challenges
  • With feats such as Weapon Focus, Improved Critical, or Combat Expertise

 

Yes to all. Remember that it has no descriptors, which limits some of the feats it can be used with.

 

Q: Can you create a second flame in your off-hand to Two-Weapon Fight?

 

Yes, with another Concentration check. It's considered a one-handed weapon for calculating what two-weapon fighting penalties apply.

 

Q: How much light does the flame weapon created by Master of Heat and Flame give off?

 

The amount of light that Master of Heat and Flame gives off is left to the individual GM, but an amount equal to a torch seems reasonable.

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.